BIG FAT SWEATY SUMMER UPDATE – PT 1 – Foodstuffs

We had a slow ass start to the summer here up in the Pacific Northwest. The temperature had been above 75 degrees a full recorded hour by mid-July (while the rest of the USA was swathed in hellfire), and even as I sit here writing this in my kitchen it is overcast and promising a warm muggy shower. However, summer did finally showed up in a rushed blaze of enthusiasm, like myself when I’m late for work and trying to amend this fact by sheer smiles.

The sudden warmth also brought home my many excellent friends who then filled my flat with laughter, food, and dancing. Adventures were had and birthdays were celebrated. All in all, it’s been busy and I finally am getting a (kind-of) chance to catch up and transcribe some of the goodies I’ve reaped from this summer.

Foodstuffs:

Homebrew!

IMG_0467

Which as long as it is below 10% ABV is considered a foodstuff (in Russia)! Finally I got another batch bubbling away happily in my pantry. Soon the despair of not having homebrews was going to make me doubt my own awesomeness or any claims I had to being a brew witch in general. The recipe I used is actually from The Cellar Homebrew where I get all my supplies and advice. IMO, they are more than worth the drive.

For my batch I used: “Round the Horn” IPA (click for download) which I altered a bit and may have fucked up (completely forgot the dry malt until I’d capped the fermentor), but eh, I’ve learned that regardless of how much you fuck up your brew process it’ll still taste better than most of that you can buy at the supermarket. The air coming out of the airlock smells sinfully good and makes me really pleased I used so many citrus bomb hops.

 

Burly Sushi: aka “Rustic Sushi”

I hinted in a previous comic post that my cooking beast had concocted a sushi utilizing quinoa and hardy greens and we ended up with an excellent result. Something that probably is more of a quinoa wrap than proper sushi, but if you do it right, you can roll it, tempura it, and even slice it! Plus, despite us doing it without any fancy fish, you could easily use raw fish in these and have the same pleasing effect. I’m debating making a food comic about this, but for now I will at least give the most basic recipe and will happily give more instruction if there is interest.

 

(Super Basic) Burly Sushi:

1.5 cups uncooked quinoa (any color)

1/3 cup Rice Vinegar (unsweetened)

1 tbsp salt

3 tbsp sugar

1 sweet potato

1 bunch collard greens (you will need at least 8 leaves)

1 avocado

1 lime

1 red or yellow or orange bell pepper

Sriracha (hot sauce), soy sauce, and pickled ginger ~ to taste

 

Bring 3 cups of water to boil, add quinoa, boil, then reduce to very low and let simmer, covered. Open the lid as little as possible and stir by moving the pot in circles while holding the lid down. Once the quinoa is cooked through fluff it with a fork. Mix vinegar, salt, and sugar over heat until dissolved and add to quinoa. Mix and continue to mix at intervals as it cools to room temperature ( I set mine out on the windowsill). While it cools, slide your sweet potato into 1/2″ * 1/2″ slices (like fries) and tempura in the batter of your choice. Being a root vegetable, it is better to cook it at lower oil temperatures to give it a chance to cook through without burning the batter. Cut your bell pepper into similar slices, coat with a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper, and roast in the oven. Finally slice your avocado into thin slices and place in boil with juice from lime.

Lay out your collard green, coat with cooled quinoa, pile tempura potato, bell pepper, and avocado down the center. Touch up with some Sriracha, soy sauce, or whatever you like, and roll it up. Enjoy.

Note: without something to hold it, the roll will come undone. You can use toothpicks or carrot slices. There is also the possibility of a “kale mat” that will hold, but it is much more labor intensive. There is also a thousand other awesome Burly options to imitate sushi (eggplant seeds for roe, tempura rolls, asparagus ingredients, red apple cider vinegar instead of rice vinegar, etc.). Finally, this recipe is easily vegan, gluten free (roast instead of tempura sweet potato, or use different flour), and raw (sprouted quinoa, uncooked veggies).

IMG_0459Root Veggie Salad/ Slaw

1 Beet (julienne or through a cheese grater)

2 Carrots (same)

1 tbsp. olive oil

2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar

1tsp. salt

1 tsp. sugar

1 tbsp dijon or spicy mustard.

Put it in a bowl and EAT IT. Also tastes good with greens added (double wet ingredients) or other root veggies.

Silly Ladies Mac n’ Cheese

1 box mac n’ cheese (milk and butter according to instructions)

1 cup kimchi

1 can salmon

2 cloves garlic

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp white pepper

1/2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp cumin

1 pinch paprika

Make mac n’ cheese according to box instructions. Finely dice garlic and saute in a bit of olive oil until brown and crispy. Add all ingredients to mac n’ cheese and mix. Eat it!

Leave a Reply

